Established in 1993 by Todd McEwen The Lemon Tree Writers support writers throughout North-East Scotland through providing a platform to discus new writing from members, and to promote this writing through occasional workshops, performances and publications.

As a group, Lemon Tree Writers have performed at the Aberdeen Arts Carnival, at Word, the University of Aberdeen Writers’ Festival, and at New Words, the festival of new writing for Aberdeen and North-East Scotland. In 2001, Lemon Tree Writers collaborated with Spotlight Theatre in Inverurie to write and produce a two act play, Soul Traders. The group also appeared at the Pennan Arts Festival in 2003.

Lemon Tree Writers have published several collections of writing. The more recent titles are available from local bookshops and Lemon Tree Writers events.

Over the years the group has been chaired by Roddy Lumsden, Eddie Gibbons, Michel Dudropt, David Nicol, Haworth Hodgkinson, Judith Taylor, Aidan Mulkerrin, Gráinne Smith, John Bolland, Robert Ramsay, Rachel Grant, Richie Brown, Petra Vergunst, Ian Anderson, Ian Grosz and, since January 2020 Sarah-Jane Bennison.